Welcome to the improved printable forecast

This replaces the previous one you have been using. Please note:

  • Panels at the bottom will be printed out only if you open them
  • These buttons below will not be printed out

Yukon

Early season avalanche information will be issued in the fall and our daily forecasts return in late November. Have a great summer!

Danger ratings

Off season

Off season
Avalanche forecasts have ended for the season and will return with the snow in the fall. Look for the first one sometime in November. Field Observations for your area may be available at the Association of Canadian Mountain Guides (ACMG) Mountain Conditions Report Website: http://www.mountainconditions.com. More detailed information on managing conditions in the spring and summer: avalanche.ca/spring-conditions.

Problems

No problems identified.

Details

Weather Summary

Check out the summer version of the Mountain Weather Forecast to help you plan your summer backcountry trips.

Archived bulletins

Select a date

October 2021
Sun.
Mon.
Tue.
Wed.
Thu.
Fri.
Sat.
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Read the Friday, October 15, 2021 avalanche forecast
Danger Ratings Explained

1 - Low

Generally safe avalanche conditions. Watch for unstable snow on isolated terrain features.

Natural and human-triggered avalanches unlikely.

Small avalanches in isolated areas or extreme terrain.

2 - Moderate

Heightened avalanche conditions on specific terrain features. Evaluate snow and terrain carefully; identify features of concern.

Natural avalanches unlikely; human-triggered avalanches possible.

Small avalanches in specific areas; or large avalanches in isolated areas.

3 - Considerable

Dangerous avalanche conditions. Careful snowpack evaluation, cautious route-finding and conservative decision-making essential.

Natural avalanches possible; human-triggered avalanches likely.

Small avalanches in many areas; or large avalanches in specific areas; or very large avalanches in isolated areas.

4 - High

Very dangerous avalanche conditions. Travel in avalanche terrain not recommended.

Natural avalanches likely; human-triggered avalanches very likely.

Large avalanches in many areas; or very large avalanches in specific areas.

5 - Extreme

Avoid all avalanche terrain.

Natural and human-triggered avalanches certain.

Large to very large avalanches in many areas.

Avalanche Forecasts in your Inbox

Avalanche Canada has switched to an RSS feed for its daily forecasts. This is a much more flexible method that allows automatic delivery to your email inbox, or to an RSS reader of your choice.

What are RSS feeds?

RSS (Really Simple Syndication) is a popular standardized file format allowing up-to-date delivery of web-based content. RSS feeds enable you to receive content updates from websites, delivered to your email through an RSS aggregator (such as blogtrottr.com) or viewed through applications called RSS readers (such as feedly.com).

Set up an RSS feed for your email:

Once you have chosen your favourite RSS aggregator:

  1. Copy the URL of the forecast you interested in and paste it into the appropriate field of your RSS aggregator, a list is provided below.
  2. Fill in your email address.
  3. Voilà! Watch the Avalanche Canada forecast roll into your inbox.

List of avalanche forecast RSS feeds

  • Cariboos — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/cariboos.rss
  • Kananaskis Country, Alberta Parks — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/kananaskis.rss
  • Kootenay Boundary — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/kootenay-boundary.rss
  • Lizard Range and Flathead — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/lizard-range.rss
  • North Columbia — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/north-columbia.rss
  • North Rockies — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/north-rockies.rss
  • Northwest Coastal — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/northwest-coastal.rss
  • Northwest Inland — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/northwest-inland.rss
  • Purcells — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/purcells.rss
  • Sea To Sky — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/sea-to-sky.rss
  • South Coast — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/south-coast.rss
  • South Coast Inland — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/south-coast-inland.rss
  • South Columbia — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/south-columbia.rss
  • South Rockies — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/south-rockies.rss
  • Yukon — https://avalanche.ca/api/forecasts/yukon.rss
Forecast by Text

Avalanche Canada and Avalanche Québec forecasts can now be accessed via text message for users spending time recreating outside of cellphone range. These are text forecasts, and they should only be used if you are unable to access the full forecast through our website or app. For more information, click here.

Forecast Disclaimer

USE AT YOUR OWN RISK

Avalanche Canada's Public Avalanche Bulletin, and other information and services provided by Avalanche Canada, are intended for personal and recreational purposes only.

**THIS INFORMATION IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND IN NO EVENT SHALL THE PROVIDERS BE LIABLE FOR ANY DAMAGES, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, DAMAGES RESULTING FROM DISCOMFORT, INJURY, OR DEATH, CLAIMS BY THIRD PARTIES OR FOR OTHER SIMILAR COSTS, OR ANY SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, ARISING OUT OF THE USE OF THE INFORMATION.**

The user acknowledges that it is impossible to accurately predict natural events such as avalanches in every instance, and uses the data in this bulletin with this always foremost in mind. The accuracy or reliability of the data is not guaranteed or warranted in any way and the Providers disclaim liability of any kind whatsoever, including, without limitation, liability for quality, performance, merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose arising out of the use, or inability to use the data.